castle: end Mar-end Oct: 10am-6pm (Jul-Aug from 9am); end Oct-end Dec: 10am-4pm; Feb-Mar: 10am-4pm - closed 25, 26 and 31 Dec and Jan
This castle has an idyllic remote site. The ruins were abandoned in 1719 (Jacobite uprising) until it was completely rebuilt in the 20C. The two rooms open to the public (troop barracks and banquet hall) show a variety of souvenirs linked to the MacRaes, who were the bodyguards of the MacKenzie family. Due to their unique situation, the exterior ramparts provide fine views over the three lochs.